Sister Schools

In order to foster academic discourse and encourage international cooperation in the field of Acupuncture and Traditional Chinese Medicine, Texas Health and Science University has developed formal agreements of cooperation with sister schools in China and Taiwan. The institutions enter into Sister School Relationships voluntarily in order to achieve mutual benefits and opportunities for the respective institutions and their faculty and students; and either institution may terminate the agreement at any time at will with one year’s written notice. The terms and conditions of the agreement include administrative collaboration and control over the academic programs, facilities, faculty, and curriculum, as well as assurance of the English language competency of instructors in the program.

The goals and objectives of the program are collaboration in educational programs, clinical practice, and research in order to achieve:

  • Education and Training to mutually recognize Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine courses, curriculum, teaching, and training from both schools;
  • Summer exchange programs and related short-term training programs;
  • Academic exchange visits for students and faculty;
  • Cultural enrichment and education;
  • Language training and communication; and
  • Award appropriate degrees upon successful completion of the combined programs when students complete the requirements for graduation.

The University is a member of the Council of Colleges of Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (CCAOM), headquartered in Baltimore, MD, and an institutional member of the Texas Association of Acupuncturists (TAOA).

  • Texas Health and Science University has cooperative arrangements with several sister schools in Asia. These institutions include:
  • Meiho Institute of Technology in Taiwan (since 2003)
  • Xinjiang Medical University in China (since 2007)
  • Fu Jen Catholic University in Taiwan (since 2010)
  • Zhejiang Chinese Medical University in China (since 2010)
  • Transworld University in Taiwan (since 2011)
  • Jiangxi University of T.C.M International Education College (since 2011)
  • Ming Chuan University in Taiwan (since 2013)
  • National Peng Hu University of Science and Technology in Taiwan (since 2013)
  • Da-Yeh University in Taiwan (since 2015)
  • Asia University in Taiwan (since 2015)
  • Hwa Hsia University of Technology (since 2015)
  • Hsing Wu University (since 2017)

Under these arrangements, the above-named institutions recognize academic credits earned in the THSU MSAOM program as applicable toward their own equivalent programs of study.

Texas Health and Science University offers Dual Degree programs with Zhejiang Chinese Medical University.  New and current students can enroll and receive their Master of Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine degree from THSU, and enroll at Zhejiang Chinese Medical University to receive an additional Master of Acupuncture and Tui Na degree.